The Death of My Therapist: A Patient’s Story

The following is an excerpt from an article called The Death of My Therapist: A Patient’s Story in Psychiatric Times by an anonymous author known by the screen name “NeedsFixing.” Had this person’s therapist had a professional will, this patient might not have suffered the abandonment feelings she went through. With Therapist Will, tragedies like this one can be mitigated with a commitment of a few minutes and $79 from a therapist. We just need to get the word out to therapists about how easy it is!

“I did not allow my therapist’s death to push me over the edge, but what about her other patients? Did they get what they needed? Do the professionals in her circle have any idea what her patients went through? Do other therapists have better contingency plans? I know no one likes to think about his or her mortality, but shouldn’t there be a plan in place if something happens? If I had not reached out, would I not have learned anything about what happened? Why wasn’t the therapeutic community there to help me get through this loss?

What I went through is apparently not an isolated incident; when I told others in the therapeutic community, they reported similar experiences with patients who had gone through the death of a therapist. Therapists need to be made aware of the effect this can have on patients; they should be taught to develop a plan so that they can offer services to those left behind.  I know that I would have had a difficult time no matter what. But if people had been available to help me deal with the loss it would have made me feel less vulnerable and alone.

It has been a year since my therapist died. As her anniversary approached, I kept thinking about her and my anger surfaced again. I have gotten over the abandonment I felt from her death, but I still haven’t gotten over the anger I felt at being left with no support or guidance from her colleagues. I am using this story to help me deal with my anger by putting it to productive use. I am hoping therapists will learn from reading about what I went through. Please take some action so that someone else does not have to go through what I did.”

The full article is available on the Psychiatric Times website by clicking on the hyperlink in this sentence. You must register with Psychiatric Times in order to read the full article. Membership is free of charge and you do not have to be a health care provider in order to register.

I did not allow my therapist’s death to push me over the edge, but what about her other patients? Did they get what they needed? Do the professionals in her circle have any idea what her patients went through? Do other therapists have better contingency plans? I know no one likes to think about his or her mortality, but shouldn’t there be a plan in place if something happens? If I had not reached out, would I not have learned anything about what happened? Why wasn’t the therapeutic community there to help me get through this loss?What I went through is apparently not an isolated incident; when I told others in the therapeutic community, they reported similar experiences with patients who had gone through the death of a therapist. Therapists need to be made aware of the effect this can have on patients; they should be taught to develop a plan so that they can offer services to those left behind. I know that I would have had a difficult time no matter what. But if people had been available to help me deal with the loss it would have made me feel less vulnerable and alone.

It has been a year since my therapist died. As her anniversary approached, I kept thinking about her and my anger surfaced again. I have gotten over the abandonment I felt from her death, but I still have not gotten over the anger I felt at being left with no support or guidance from her colleagues. I am using this story to help me deal with my anger by putting it to productive use. I am hoping therapists will learn from reading about what I went through. Please take some action so that someone else does not have to go through what I did. – See more at: http://www.psychiatrictimes.com/articles/death-my-therapist-patients-story#sthash.peZ0pK8V.dpuf

I did not allow my therapist’s death to push me over the edge, but what about her other patients? Did they get what they needed? Do the professionals in her circle have any idea what her patients went through? Do other therapists have better contingency plans? I know no one likes to think about his or her mortality, but shouldn’t there be a plan in place if something happens? If I had not reached out, would I not have learned anything about what happened? Why wasn’t the therapeutic community there to help me get through this loss?What I went through is apparently not an isolated incident; when I told others in the therapeutic community, they reported similar experiences with patients who had gone through the death of a therapist. Therapists need to be made aware of the effect this can have on patients; they should be taught to develop a plan so that they can offer services to those left behind. I know that I would have had a difficult time no matter what. But if people had been available to help me deal with the loss it would have made me feel less vulnerable and alone.

It has been a year since my therapist died. As her anniversary approached, I kept thinking about her and my anger surfaced again. I have gotten over the abandonment I felt from her death, but I still have not gotten over the anger I felt at being left with no support or guidance from her colleagues. I am using this story to help me deal with my anger by putting it to productive use. I am hoping therapists will learn from reading about what I went through. Please take some action so that someone else does not have to go through what I did. – See more at: http://www.psychiatrictimes.com/articles/death-my-therapist-patients-story#sthash.peZ0pK8V.dpuf

I did not allow my therapist’s death to push me over the edge, but what about her other patients? Did they get what they needed? Do the professionals in her circle have any idea what her patients went through? Do other therapists have better contingency plans? I know no one likes to think about his or her mortality, but shouldn’t there be a plan in place if something happens? If I had not reached out, would I not have learned anything about what happened? Why wasn’t the therapeutic community there to help me get through this loss?What I went through is apparently not an isolated incident; when I told others in the therapeutic community, they reported similar experiences with patients who had gone through the death of a therapist. Therapists need to be made aware of the effect this can have on patients; they should be taught to develop a plan so that they can offer services to those left behind. I know that I would have had a difficult time no matter what. But if people had been available to help me deal with the loss it would have made me feel less vulnerable and alone.

It has been a year since my therapist died. As her anniversary approached, I kept thinking about her and my anger surfaced again. I have gotten over the abandonment I felt from her death, but I still have not gotten over the anger I felt at being left with no support or guidance from her colleagues. I am using this story to help me deal with my anger by putting it to productive use. I am hoping therapists will learn from reading about what I went through. Please take some action so that someone else does not have to go through what I did. – See more at: http://www.psychiatrictimes.com/articles/death-my-therapist-patients-story#sthash.peZ0pK8V.dpuf

One thought on “The Death of My Therapist: A Patient’s Story

  1. Pingback: ASK YOUR THERAPIST IF SHE HAS A PROFESSIONAL WILL | professional will lowdown

Leave a Reply

